Karolina Pliskova Loses Her Cool At The Italian Open

Pliskova needs to keep her temper in Czech..

Image result for karolina pliskova

Karolina Pliskova, the Czech former world No. 1 and the No. 6 seed at the Italian Open, lost her temper yesterday after a poor refereeing decision sent her out of the Italian Open.

Under the grey skies of an expected storm, Pliskova caused a storm on the court after a bad decision by the umpire sent her out of the competition. The score was tied at 5-5 in the deciding set in her second-round match against Greece’s Maria Sakkari, when the umpire called out on a shot.

Replays show the ball was quite clearly in by at least an inch, but with clay matches not using Hawkeye for confirmation, the umpire uses their own judgement and markings in the clay.

The linesperson called out, but couldn’t exactly point out a ball mark in the clay; the umpire couldn’t see a mark either, but decided not to overrule the call; a supervisor was called, but could do nothing to fix the situation and Pliskova was extremely upset about the call. On replay, you can clearly see Pliskova’s ball landing inside the court.

Pliskova, clearly agitated with the incident, went on to lose the game and would not forget it. Sakkari carried on with the match to win 3-6, 6-3, 7-5, taking the biggest scalp of her career before and the two players shook hands at the net. Then, after faking a handshake with the umpire, Pliskova let her know what she really thought about her decision. Sakkari, looking a tad frightened, took a step back.


Pliskova can expect a hefty fine for the outburst and bringing the Women’s Tennis Association into disrepute.

Karolina Pliskova’s twin sister, Krystina, also a tennis player in the world’s top 100, tweeted her frustration at the poor decision.

As for the idea of an umpire “blacklist” raised by Kristyna Pliskova, we have seen this sort of thing before, notably when Rafael Nadal admitted in 2015 that he had asked for the respected chair umpire Carlos Bernardes to be kept away from his matches.

Supervisors do sometimes take previous bad blood into account when they allocate officials, but it is not a good look for the sport.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s